24th March 2020

The Hollingworth VLE is currently working again after Firefly undertook maintenance on the site to investigate the issue. We are also looking into alternative provision to online learning, should we continue to experience problems. Many thanks for your patience.


The Science department has three specialist laboratories, three regular laboratories and two multi-functional rooms. All teaching rooms are fitted with state of the art facilities such as Interactive Whiteboards and Visualisers. The department is generously resourced with text books, four class sets of laptops and specialist equipment.

The Hollingworth Ecology Garden provides a multi habitat environment. The pond is already home to hundreds of developing frogs, the odd newt, water flies and an abundance of micro-organisms. Microscopic study of these organisms takes place during science lessons and pond dipping activities.

The Curriculum

Key Stage 3

Pupils in Years 7, 8 & 9 receive three 60 minute lessons a week with homework each week, as is the policy at Hollingworth. Pupils are taught in set groups. Progress is tracked and monitored in accordance with agreed procedure. Pupils complete a baseline assessment on entry in Year 7 and will complete three National Curriculum assessments a year.

KS3 Curriculum Plan

Year 7 Curriculum Plan

Year 8 Curriculum Plan

Year 9 Curriculum Plan

Key Stage 4

The Science department currently follows the AQA syllabus. Year 10 pupils are following the new GCSE Combined Science programme of study whereas Year 11 pupils are finishing the legacy GCSEs in Core and Additional Science. Triple Science (GCSE Biology, GCSE Chemistry and GCSE Physics) is chosen as an option and is studied by approximately 25% of the cohort.

KS4 and additional Curriculum Plan

In Science pupils are taught in sets, progress is tracked and monitored in accordance with agreed procedure.

GCSE Courses for Science

Subject Key Stage 4
Biology AQA GCSE Biology (8461)
Chemistry AQA GCSE Chemistry (8462)
Physics AQA GCSE Physics (8463)
Combined Science: Trilogy AQA GCSE Combined Science: Triology (8464)